oyster, spat

Eastern Oysters, Crassostrea virginica

spat algae cylinders (1)

Algae used to feed shellfish

oysters

Juvenile oysters

Export

SPAT Zoom Workshops • FREE and open to ALL!

  • Friday, February 19, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, March 19, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, April 16, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, May 21, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, June 18, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, July 16, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, September 24, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, October 15, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, November 19, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Friday, December 17, 2021, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

"Spat" is the word for the tiniest form of shellfish that has settled onto the place where it will live out its life. It is also an acronym for the Suffolk Project in Aquaculture Training. The SPAT program was created to encourage community members to become stewards of their environment and to restore shellfish to our bays.

Join us each month as Kim Tetrault, SPAT program director, delves into the world of aquaculture. Get involved in this community project and learn about the importance of these fascinating creatures. 

Membership and information about SPAT can be found here as well as previously recorded workshops. 

Times and dates are subject to change. Sign up for the SPAT email for the latest information. 

SPAT Email Subscribe

View previous campaigns.

Fee

Free • All are welcome!

Learn More

https://zoom.us/j/95684607424?pwd=QmE3SHh2VC9zcWUya3Z5UGgrT2dmQT09

Contact

Kim Tetrault
Community Aquaculture Specialist
kwt4@cornell.edu
631-852-8660

Location

This event is online

Last updated September 24, 2021