2018 Special Program Opportunities

During the 2018 season, campers at Peconic Dunes 4-H Camp can have the opportunity to participate in the following special activities. Due to transportation and other logistical requirements, there is limited capacity for these programs which are offered on a first-come, first-served basis at camp. Parents can share this information with their campers and encourage them to sign up at camp when the program is offered.

Quogue Wildlife Presentations

Specialists from the Quogue Wildlife Refuge will conduct the following one-hour presentations at camp.

Friday, June 29 Meet the Animals

Friday, July 6 Birds of Prey

Wednesday, July 11 Meet the Animals

Friday July 20 Birds of Prey

Friday July 27 Meet the Animals

Friday, August 3 Birds of Prey

Friday, August 10 Meet the Animals

Friday, August 17 Birds of Prey


SCMELC Camper Exchange

Our campers can visit the Suffolk County Marine Education Center and learn all about Long Island’s marine environment. The center features live marine animals, touch tanks and shellfish hatcheries. This exchange will take place on the following dates.

Thursday, July 19

Thursday, August 9


Suffolk County Farm Camper Exchange

Our campers can visit the Suffolk County Farm in Yaphank and learn about Long Island agriculture, foods from the farms, farm animal care and make a farm food product. This exchange will take place on the following dates.

Thursday, July 12

Thursday, July 26

Thursday, August 2

Last updated December 6, 2017